How To Find Winning Products For Shopify Dropshipping

Find trending & evergreen winning products for Shopify & dropshipping through data backed consumer behavior research

Last updated 2022-01-10 | 4.2

- How to Find Winning Products on Shopify for Any Niche & Category
- How to Find Trending Products Through Data Backed Research
- How to Validate a Store Niche Through Consumer Data

What you'll learn

How to Find Winning Products on Shopify for Any Niche & Category
How to Find Trending Products Through Data Backed Research
How to Validate a Store Niche Through Consumer Data

* Requirements

* You should already know how to build a Shopify Store

Description

Use my proven winning product research formula that has helped me generate multiple 6 figure incomes from individual winning products and got me featured on the official Shopify Masters Podcast. A lot of Shopify marketers and dropshipping entrepreneurs are wasting a lot of time and money testing 5-10 products a day failing again and again to find anything successful. Testing 5-10 products a day is like gambling and with my strategic step by step winning product research you will learn to only spend money on ads for products through data backed validation.

There are two different type of winning products you will learn how to find in my course. 

1. Trending Products

2. Evergreen Products

Trending products are items that have an influx of consumers looking to purchase something for an event, movement, fad, or season. Although these type of products don't last forever they can make you thousands of dollars in a short amount of time. In my course I'll walk through how I generated $18,000 through this type of research and actually show you the real product, research, and even ads I used to capitalize on the consumer trend. From my course you'll be able to do data research online to find consumer trends in every niche possible.

Evergreen products are items that are currently not trending and they might not ever trend except there is a continuous stream of consumers who are looking to purchase this product every month. You may not be able to scale this product to thousands of dollars in a day, however, you may be able to generate a steady profit of $1,000 per month. The more evergreen products you discover the longer you can expect to have a successful store for years to come producing a profit. 

Not only will I teach you to find winning products through data backed research, but also give you my best product testing calculator which is an equation I follow once I start putting money on ads to determine if I should scale or not. I'll also give you a few bonus videos on sourcing your product (if you only use Aliexpress you are missing the best places online to source quality goods) and share with you one of my exact stores and the set up I have on it. 

Who this course is for:

  • Shopify entrepreneurs & Marketers Wanting to Find Winning Products for Ecommerce
  • Dropshippers

Course content

5 sections • 8 lectures

How to Use Google Trends Preview 06:58

Google Trends has made me a lot of money and I hope it brings good fortune to you as well. 
Like keyword planner it uses real search traffic except has an emphasis on data that is happening in real time. 

There are so many trends that happen every single day on the internet. 
I'm excited to share 2 real case studies further along in the course that walkthrough how I've leveraged Google Trends to make thousands of dollars from scratch over night. 
The more time you spend researching the better the chances of you finding a winner will be. 

How to Use Keyword Planner Preview 07:02

Have you ever heard the story of Abraham Lincoln and the cherry tree? The legend goes that when tasked to cut down a tree with an Axe in 5 hours, instead of starting by simply hacking away, he would spend at least 3 hours sharpening the axe.

It's a great metaphor on what it takes to be successful on Google. The most successful marketers on Google will be the ones who spend more time doing research on consumer behavior and user intent.

In Facebook Ads it seems like the wild wild west and gambling with people having to test 5-10 products every single day to see what sticks. Maybe that style sounds attractive to you but to me it sound like a lot of wasted time, a lot of wasted dollars, and 'spraying and praying'.

Don't get me wrong there is for sure much testing that needs to be done, however, anytime you test a product or niche it will at least be backed up by real search traffic of potential buyers. 

NOTICE

If when you use the Keyword planner and it doesn't show specific data and shows ranges instead you have will have to turn on your dummy campaign. Just make sure on your dummy campaign your daily budget is the bare minimum and that your bid strategy is Manual CPC with it set to $0.01 so it will never spend :). Google is sometimes mean like that... and forces you to have something active in order to get access to that data.

Action Items

1. With the assumption you have a store, do keyword research on all the product that you have. Pay attention to all the suggested keywords. When you run a campaign you will NEVER just run it off one keyword. It will be a combination of similar search terms. Many people will want to buy a product... but they way they search will all be a little different even though they have the same goal. Do keyword research on all your products on your store to see if there are any good items worth testing for your first campaign. 

My Proven Product & Keyword Testing Strategy

A 'good' potential campaign is going to include keywords that have low CPC and medium to low competition. I've had people ask me what a good CPC is and it's impossible to answer because you have to know your numbers as explained in the previous Data Scientist overview video. I'll try to logically explain two scenarios of how I measure if I am going to test something.

1. Know the cost and margin of the product you are saying. If it costs $10 and you are selling it for $30 that means you have $20 to spend on Google to try to bring that sale in.

2. Find out how much it's going to cost to get 100 clicks for those accurate search terms. If the average CPC of the keywords you are targeting is $0.20 that means to bring 100 qualified people via that search term is going to cost you $20. With the example product that would be a perfect scenario to test. If 100 clicks go buy and you have no sales with no ATC then I would move on to the next product. 

Note: Obviously we would love if all of our CPC were $0.01 but that is just not going to be the case. If you were selling a high end furniture like a sofa for $3,000 and your marge was $1500 that means I would want to target keywords with a CPC of $15 or less. $15 sounds like a lot, however, it's a bigger product which means bigger sales. It's all relative on knowing the numbers.

3. Instead of putting in keywords try placing a URL of a competitor or a store you think is doing well. After doing this you will get an idea of applicable keywords to target to steal the traffic they rank for!

How to Find a Trending Product Preview 12:53

Product Research Here is a list of all the places I follow/subscribe and pay attention to so I can find the trending and evergreen products.


https://techcrunch.com/gadgets/

https://ecomhunt.com/

https://techcrunch.com/gadgets/

https://bensbargains.com/

https://techcrunch.com/gadgets/

http://coolmaterial.com/

https://techcrunch.com/gadgets/

http://www.werd.com/

https://techcrunch.com/gadgets/

https://www.firebox.com/

https://techcrunch.com/gadgets/

https://klout.com/home

How to Find an Evergreen Product Preview 13:29

Product Research is arguably one of the best skills to have as a marketer. Platforms like Facebook and Snapchat will come and go. Don’t ever be romantic about the platform you use or the product you sell. Finding a winning product that people want to buy is a timeless skill to have.

Remember that there are two different types of winning products. Trending and evergreen. Most people spend more time trying to find trending hot flash products to scale fast. I’ve done it many a time but they are harder to spot and usually draw headaches because of the influx of data. I’ve been burned twice by manufacturers who couldn’t keep up with the demand and had to refund thousands of dollars because of it. 

The beauty of evergreen products is that you can find awesome recurring revenue opportunities. Find a specific niche product where no one else is competing o1n (or competition is doing a poor job) and conquer the first ranking to make a small cashflow every month. Building a steady income online is done through finding evergreen products. You may not ever scale an evergreen product, but if it would make you $100 in profit with zero maintenance and you find 10 of them… you just made an extra $1,000 in profit a month!

Case Study: Generating $18k in 30 Days from Scratch Preview 15:53

An influx in consumer goods for Pink Hats surged the internet in January as a result of one of the political movements. Utilizing Google Ads, Retargeting & Facebook Pixel to target look a like audiences from the accumulated conversion data I generated $18,093 in 30 days with a customer acquisition cost of $6.01. The below video is an attempt to try to record the progression of the trend. It's so exciting when you get them I can't wait for you to land your first!

Overal Stats for 30 Day Period Total Sales: $18,194.56 

Total Spend: $4,220 

Total Orders: 731 

Profit: 59%

Case Study: Generating Over $9k in 30 Days from Pokemon Go Preview 03:41

What to do after you find a winning product Preview 02:49